CHE logo

Trina Napasindayao and Derrick Kaseman named recipients of the Chair’s Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowships


Trina Napasindayao and Derrick Kasemen

The Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science is pleased to announce that the 2013-2014 Chair’s Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowships were awarded to Derrick Kasemen and Trina Napasindayao. These awards are in recognition of their academic and scientific accomplishments during their graduate student careers at UC Davis. The Graduate Affairs Committee cited Mr. Kaseman’s contributions towards the development of a new two-dimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopic technique that has helped to resolve a 10 year old controversy on the structure and connectivity in Ge-Se alloys. Ms. Napasindayao’s work is in the area of fault-tolerant process control and systems engineering, specifically focusing on the development of innovative methods for the identification and handling of faults in controlled particular process systems that continuous and dispersed phases. Congratulations!