CHE logo

Joe Smith Distinguished Lecture: 2-Dimensional Zeolites

June 08, 2017
10:00 am - 11:00 am

2-Dimensional Zeolites

Michael Tsapatsis
Amundson Chair
Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
University of Minnesota
10 AM, Thursday, June 8th, 2017
1065 Kemper Hall

Link to the flyer

Abstract: Single-unit-cell thick microporous materials (2-dimensional zeolites; AIChE Journal 60(7), 2374-2381 (2014)) open exciting possibilities for technological breakthroughs in molecular sieve membrane fabrication, synthesis of hierarchical catalysts and polymer-zeolite nanocomposites for applications ranging from large scale chemical processing to nanodevices and microsystems. Our contributions to synthesis of high aspect ratio zeolite and other crystalline nanoporous (e.g., metal-organicframeworks) nanosheets, methods to characterize their structure and properties, along with their processing and assembly to create selective membranes, sensors and catalysts will be presented.

Biography: Michael Tsapatsis joined the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota in September 2003 as a professor and he currently holds the Amundson Chair. He received an Engineering Diploma (1988) from The University of Patras, Greece, and MS (1991) and Ph.D. (1994) degrees from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) working with G.R. Gavalas. He was a post-doctoral fellow with M.E. Davis at Caltech (1993/94). Before joining the University of Minnesota he was a faculty member (assistant and associate professor) in the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of Massachusetts Amherst (1994- 2003). He is the recipient of the Alpha Chi Sigma Awards for Chemical Engineering Research from AIChE, the Breck Award from the International Zeolite Association, the Charles M.A. Stine Award from the Materials Engineering & Science Division of AIChE, a David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award and a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2011) and member of the National Academy of Engineering (2015).

The Joe Smith Distinguished Lecture was established in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of California, Davis, to honor the late Professor J. M. Smith, the founding Chair of the Department and member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Previous Distinguished Lecturers:

  • Matthew Tirrell (1997)
  • William B. Russel (1998)
  • Mark E. Davis (1999)
  • Buddy Ratner (2000)
  • Robert H. Davis (2002)
  • Gregory Stephanopoulos (2003)
  • Frank S. Bates (2004)
  • Douglas A. Lauffenburger (2005)
  • Alice P. Gast (2006)
  • Pablo G. Debenedetti (2007)
  • David A. Tirrell (2008)
  • Howard A. Stone (2009)
  • Carol K. Hall (2010)
  • Paul Alivisatos (2011)
  • Peter Stang (2012)
  • Babatunde A. Ogunnaike (2013)
  • Paula Hammond (2014)
  • Zhenan Bao (2015)
  • James Liao (2016)


1065 Kemper Hall

Loading Map....